The Greenest City: from environmental progress to green branding

The Greenest City: from environmental progress to green branding

The Greenest City

In 2015 Paris hosted the COP 21 global summit that gave birth a few months later to the Paris Climate Agreement signed by the European Union and 174 other countries. Host city of a global environmental meeting, at the centre of media spotlight, driving hope for young generations all around the world, Greater Paris marked through this summit its pioneer and leading role in global environmental progress. But looking beyond political leadership, what example did the French capital manage to set on the global environmental scene? How can cities reconcile urban logics and carbon-free targets? To what extent do local companies take part in making Greater Paris a global reference for environmental progress? Where to mark the border between green branding and green washing?

The Global Cities Makers Forum brought together four experts, all engaged in the ecological transition in cities: Marc Lhermitte, partner and EMEA lead at EY, Marie-Claude Dupuis, Strategy innovation & development director at RATP Group, Catherine Lescure, Ile-de-France regional director at EDF group, and Ralf Ploenes, VP of Raritan Europe and VP of Legrand Datacenter Solutions Germany.

Greater Paris’ companies, ecological driving forces and models

Environmental ambition has become a requirement that companies have to take into account in their domestic activity as well as in choosing a place to settle or relocate. They are ureged by consumers, investors and partners to commit to an increasing number and level of environmental and ethical principles. Since a company’s business is necessarily rooted in a territory, firms tend to settle in ecofriendly environments that are committed to similar principles and that encourage them in meeting their ecological goals.

For a place to be eco-attractive from a company’s view, it must match the following criteria:

  • a multimodal, high quality and dense transports network
  • a safe, efficient and clean energy system
  • an attractive working and living setting.

Such requirements are a strong motivation for cities to try and initiate environmental efforts since meeting them means enabling new economic opportunities and investments.

Greater Paris has a major environmental approach, but few people actually know about it

Marc Lhermitte
Partner, EMEA Lead, EY

For multinational companies to invest in Greater Paris, the city must engage local public and private operators, mainly transport and energy sectors. According to Marc Lhermitte, “in Europe, the difference between highly attractive cities and the others lies in the number of cars owned per capita”. A way for local authorities to reinforce Greater Paris accessibility and reduce its carbon emissions is to encourage alternative modes of transport. The city must therefore provide people with efficient, dense, diverse and carbon-free modes of transport. As part of this strategy, RATP group has put innovation at the heart of its projects. For instance, it has been transforming 25 bus depots into pleasant multifunctional and ecological areas. The Lagny depot, located in the 20th district of Paris, will soon welcome offices, studios and a kindergarten school, all powered by a 100% electrical energy.

The energy sector is indeed an extra mirror for a city’s environmental ambitions. Catherine Lescure asserts that “cities have become deeply aware of these issues. As they have targeted a 2050 carbon-free activity, climate and energy plans are massively being integrated to their overall policies.” In keeping with the 2015 ecological transition law, Ile-de-France region aims to develop solar energy and multiply its capacity by 60 from now until 2030. To reach this ambitious goal, EDF Group who takes an active part in the region’s green strategy, collaborates with other urban operators such as real estate constructors and developers.

“We must lead by example: RATP Group is a pioneer in the electrical transition of bus services.”

Marie-Claude Dupuis
Strategy, Innovation and Development Director of RATP Group

Green innovation and pioneer development also depend on smart and connected services. Initially dedicated to banks and insurances, data centers now collect data from all urban players and facilities which ensure increasingly efficient products and services such as transport systems, signage, connected units… But some cities have recently decided to ban data centers from inside the city centers claiming they required too much space and energy supply. Ralf Ploenes explains that cooperating more closely with data centers would allow them to be less invasive, more efficient and useful to cities. Data centers could thus become a precious and driving asset for cities that are willing to lead environmental progress. In fact, urban services and facilities that are perfectly adapted to a city’s needs, waist fewer time, energy, and use less space.

According to Marie-Claude Dupuis, cities’ main challenge is to “lead by example”. That is also true when it comes to companies: they also must commit to internal obligations (cutting by 40% carbon emissions – EDF Group), export expertise  abroad (leading the electrical transition of bus services – RATP Group), and help enhancing the city’s green brand image.

Enhancing Greater Paris environmental attractiveness

Although France and Greater Paris decision makers and company leaders have fostered ambitious projects, they both lack global recognition. Medium cities such as Oslo, Stockholm or Helsinki are the most quoted by global investors with regards to environmental criteria. Nevertheless, compared to bigger cities, Paris and its region rank third, behind London and Frankfurt. “Greater Paris has a major environmental approach, but few people actually know about it” as Marc Lhermitte asserts. How can it spread a greener image and change the way it is perceived?

We must consider the Games as an opportunity to showcase our improvements and communicate upon them to the general public.”

Catherine Lescure
Ile-de-France regional director of EDF Group

A city’s image is made of both showing and telling.

As stated earlier, an attractive working and living setting is a decisive asset for a firm when it comes to choosing a place to settle. This criteria lies mostly on workers’ perceptions and often matches the number of pedestrian ways, green spaces, or recycling waste disposals. As cities aim to meet the investors’ demands, many – like Paris La Défense business district – have launched new urban planning projects that commit to preserving or creating green spaces dedicated to leisure activities, to including connected facilities and furniture, and to improving coexistence between pedestrians and cyclists. A city’s image widely depends on its urban landscape. In fact, it is an early picture given to future investors and inhabitants about the city. And being a visual asset, it can thus be promoted and shared on social media.

Data centres can be improved and turned into a driving asset for cities that are willing to lead environmental progress.

Ralf Ploenes
VP of Raritan Europe, VP of Legrand Datacenter Solutions Germany

Considering the fact that marketing is based on selling a special and unique identity, urban branding can also build an identity based on the cities’ environmental resources. Catherine Lescure claims that each region, each city is provided with natural and local potentials: Occitanie region is drenched in sunlight, whereas Ile-de-France (Paris Region) benefits from considerable heat power. These assets can be enhanced and maximised in order to improve concrete energy solutions, but they can also and mostly become the core subject of the city’s communication and branding strategy. In other words, promoting a greener Greater Paris would mean promoting an innovative geothermal Greater Paris brand.

Last but not least, competing to host global events is also part of the global cities’ competition for attractiveness. But why is it such a key asset? The 2024 Olympic and Paralympic Games are a unique chance for Greater Paris to double its efforts regarding environmental transition, to run innovative projects, but above all to exhibit its assets. In fact, Greater Paris brims with green solutions that must be brought to light: it is modernising and expanding its public transport network, securing its connected services and facilities, and developing a new source of energy supply based on hydrogen. Catherine Lescure insists: “we must consider the Games as an opportunity to showcase our improvements, and to communicate upon them to the general public”.

La ville la plus verte : de la transition écologique à l’image de marque

La ville la plus verte : de la transition écologique à l’image de marque

Les Métropoles Zéro Carbone

En 2015, Paris accueillait la COP 21, sommet mondial qui a donné lieu aux Accords de Paris ratifiés par 174 pays et par l’Union Européenne. Le Grand Paris, métropole d’accueil d’une concertation écologique internationale, fortement médiatisée, et porteuse d’espoirs pour les jeunes générations du monde entier marque alors son positionnement pionnier dans le domaine environnemental. Mais au-delà du leadership politique, quelle image la capitale française a-t-elle réussi à diffuser sur la scène écologique mondiale ? Comment concilier dynamiques urbaines et objectif zéro carbone ? Comment les entreprises contribuent-elles à faire du Grand Paris une référence mondiale du progrès écologique ? Quelle frontière entre l’image verte et le green-washing ?

Le Forum Global Cities Makers a réuni quatre experts de la performance et de l’attractivité vertes, engagés dans la transition écologique, lors de la table-ronde The Greenest City : Marc Lhermitte, associé et EMEA Lead au cabinet EY, Marie-Claude Dupuis, directrice stratégie, innovation et développement du groupe RATP, Catherine Lescure, directrice régionale Ile-de-France du groupe EDF, et Ralf Ploenes, vice-président Raritan Europe et vice-président de Legrand Datacenter Solutions Germany.

Les entreprises : moteurs et modèles d’un Grand Paris écologique

L’ambition écologique est devenue une injonction que les entreprises doivent prendre en compte aussi bien dans leur activité propre que dans leur choix d’implantation territoriale. Elles-mêmes soumises aux exigences environnementales et éthiques accrues des consommateurs, investisseurs et de leurs partenaires, elles appliquent à leur tour les mêmes critères aux territoires dans lesquels elles envisagent d’investir ou de s’installer. Trois critères majeurs motivent leur choix : les transports (qualité, densité, intermodalité), l’énergie (sécurité, efficacité, propreté) et l’environnement paysager. De telles exigences sont sources de progrès écologiques pour les villes désirant attirer ces entreprises et profiter de nouvelles opportunités économiques.

« Le Grand Paris a une perspective verte très importante [3e grande métropole la plus verte, NDLR], et ça ne se sait peut-être pas assez. »

Marc Lhermitte
Associé, EY

Pour renforcer son attractivité auprès des entreprises internationales, le Grand Paris sollicite l’ensemble de ses acteurs publics et privés, principalement dans les secteurs de la mobilité et de l’énergie. Marc Lhermitte l’affirme, « la ligne de partage entre les métropoles européennes qui ont une forte attractivité se dessine selon le nombre de voitures pour 100 habitants ». Encourager les modes de transport alternatifs à l’automobile est l’un des leviers d’action des collectivités locales afin de rendre le Grand Paris plus accueillant et réduire son empreinte carbone. Il faut donc être en mesure d’offrir aux citadins des modalités de transport efficaces, denses, plurielles et écologiques. Le groupe RATP mise ainsi sur l’innovation en transformant, par exemple, 25 dépôts de bus en espaces multifonctionnels, de vie, de loisir, et décarbonés. Le dépôt de Lagny, dans le XXème arrondissement de Paris, devient ainsi un espace 100% électrique, accueillant bureaux, ateliers et crèches.

Le secteur énergétique est également le reflet des ambitions écologiques des villes. En ce sens, « il y a une véritable prise de conscience, explique Catherine Lescure. Les métropoles orientent leurs actions avec des plans climat et énergie vers une neutralité carbone à l’horizon 2050 ». Dans la lignée de la loi sur la transition écologique (2015), la région Ile-de-France a pour objectif de développer d’ici 2030 l’énergie solaire en multipliant ses capacités par 60. Un horizon ambitieux auquel le groupe EDF prend part, et qui nécessite la collaboration d’autres acteurs urbains tels que les promoteurs et constructeurs immobiliers.

« Il faut montrer l’exemple : le groupe RATP est pionnier dans la transition électrique de sa flotte de bus. »

Marie-Claude Dupuis
Directrice Stratégie, Innovation et Développement du groupe RATP

L’innovation verte et la politique pionnière d’une ville dépend également de services intelligents et connectés. Initialement réservés aux banques et aux assurances, les data centers récoltent désormais les données des acteurs et des infrastructures permettant d’optimiser l’efficacité des services et des produits urbains (appareils connectés, bâtiments, transport, signalétique…). A l’heure où certaines villes ont affirmé vouloir se défaire de ces data centers, consommateurs d’espace et d’énergie, Ralf Ploenes explique qu’il faut justement rendre ces centres plus performants, les mettre au service du progrès écologique des villes. Des infrastructures et services urbains plus efficaces et plus adaptés aux besoins des métropoles, cela signifie une réduction du gaspillage énergétique, foncier et de temps.

Pour Marie-Claude Dupuis, il s’agit de “montrer l’exemple”. Cela passe par la tenue d’engagements internes aux entreprises (EDF s’engage par exemple à réduire de 40% ses émissions de CO2), par l’export de l’expertise française (le groupe RATP est pionnier dans la transition électrique de sa flotte de bus) mais également par la construction d’une image verte.

Renforcer l’attractivité verte du Grand Paris

L’ambition des engagements et de l’horizon fixée à la fois par la France, les pouvoirs publics et entreprises du territoire francilien ne jouit pas encore du rayonnement souhaité à l’échelle du Grand Paris. Les villes bénéficiant de la meilleure perception selon des critères environnementaux demeurent les métropoles de taille moyenne : Oslo, Stockholm, Helsinki, etc. Or, parmi les plus grandes métropoles mondiales, Paris et sa région se classent en troisième position, après Londres et Francfort. “Le Grand Paris a une perspective verte très importante, et ça ne se sait peut-être pas assez”, explique Marc Lhermitte. Comment faire savoir, faire rayonner et changer les perceptions ?

« Les Jeux, il faut qu’on les utilise à la fois dans les démonstrations [des solutions vertes innovantes] et dans la communication auprès du grand public »

Catherine Lescure
Directrice régionale Ile-de-France du groupe EDF

L’image d’une ville, c’est à la fois ce qu’elle donne à voir, et ce qu’elle dit d’elle-même.

Parmi les critères d’implantation territoriale des entreprises cités par Marc Lhermitte, figure l’environnement paysager. Ce critère de perception comprend le degré de piétonisation des espaces, leur végétalisation, la gestion des déchets quotidiens, etc. C’est pour satisfaire cette exigence croissante que les aménageurs (notamment les quartiers d’affaires, dont Paris La Défense) mènent de nouvelles politiques d’aménagement libérant davantage d’espaces verts, dédiés aux loisirs, intégrant du mobilier et des services connectés, et favorisant la cohabitation entre piétons et cyclistes. Les paysages d’une ville représentent une part non négligeable de son image. Ils constituent le premier contact qu’entretient un investisseur ou un collaborateur avec la ville, et peuvent par ailleurs être largement diffusés grâce aux réseaux sociaux parmi le grand public.

« Il faut justement rendre ces centres de données [data centers] plus performants, les mettre au service du progrès écologique des villes ».

Ralf Ploenes
Vice-Président de Raritan Europe, Vice-Président de Legrand Datacenter Solutions Germany

A l’instar d’une entreprise qui mise sur une identité singulière, unique, la ville verte peut mettre en relief une identité qui puise dans ses ressources environnementales. Comme l’indique Catherine Lescure, chaque région, chaque ville bénéficie de potentialités qui lui sont propres : l’Occitanie est ensoleillée, l’Ile-de-France est traversée de courants d’énergie thermique. Voilà autant d’atouts à exploiter pour alimenter les solutions concrètes d’optimisation énergétique. Mais elles peuvent aussi faire l’objet d’une communication à part entière : promouvoir un Grand Paris vert, cela pourrait revenir à promouvoir l’innovation géothermique du Grand Paris.

Enfin, la course aux événements internationaux va de pair avec la course au rayonnement des métropoles mondiales. Les Jeux Olympiques et Paralympiques 2024 sont ainsi l’occasion pour le Grand Paris de redoubler d’efforts en matière de transition écologique, de multiplier les solutions innovantes, et de faire la démonstration de cette attractivité croissante. Le Grand Paris regorge de solutions vertes : de la modernisation et l’extension des transports en commun, à la sécurité des services connectés, en passant par les progrès de l’énergie hydrogène, ce sont autant d’innovations qu’il s’agit de mettre en lumière. “Les Jeux, il faut qu’on les utilise à la fois dans les démonstrations, et dans la communication auprès du grand public”, soutient Catherine Lescure.