Fine crafts, drivers of attractiveness or mirrors of global cities’ persistent challenges?

Fine crafts, drivers of attractiveness or mirrors of global cities’ persistent challenges?

Cities of Craft

Lab engineers, designers, cabinetmakers, “we are fascinated by fine crafts, but there is an economic reality behind these jobs on which we must insist and that happens to be a difficult reality”. As underlined by Raphaëlle Le Baud, founder of the agency Métiers Rares, art craft is a growing driving force for economic development and cities’ attractiveness. However, it lies at the crossroads of the main challenges global cities still have to face. How can a skilled labour force meet a clear demand? How to attract global talents? In which way does art craft represent new opportunities for Greater Paris?

Around the Craft Cities round-table at the Global Cities Makers Forum, four experts – Raphaëlle Le Baud, Philippe Chomaz, executive scientific director of the French Alternative Energies and Atomic Energy Commission (CEA), Jean-Louis Fréchin, architect and designer at NoDesign, and Pascal Morand, executive president of the Haute Couture and Fashion Federation – drew a situational analysis and discussed their solutions on how to meet the increasing challenges of fine craft among global cities.

Art craftsmen, craftswomen and large groups: turning reputation into business

Long-forgotten link of the creation chain, craft has become “the epitome of production”, as it was highlighted by Jean-Louis Fréchin. Producing an industrial, scientific, or textile product requires technical skills and know-hows that are strongly sought by large industrial groups and luxury fashion houses. Nevertheless, the craftsman’s praised reputation is not sufficient to trigger profits. In fact, the meeting of supply and demand in this field is rather strenuous.

“We have to go beyond the state of the art.”

Philippe Chomaz
Executive scientific director of the French Alternative Energies and Atomic Energy Commission (CEA)

The first issue raised by this situation is the craftsmen’s training and qualification. In other words, crafts training programs suffer from a tenacious lack of consideration in the French educational system. Model making or methods offices remain little-known, even by those who aim to build careers in design, fashion or science industry. The numerous craftsmen and women that have been interviewed by Raphaëlle Le Baud have confirmed this fact: professional and technical trainings are often a default option in France.

Furthermore, for two parties to settle in a same city does not automatically mean for them to meet. Qualified craftsmen and large groups must be visible and recognisable by one another. Only craftsmen are having trouble existing and being noticed by recruiters. Conversely, large groups of luxury and fashion, whose needs in crafts workforce are substantial, admit that they lack exposure among fine crafts professionals.

How can digital tools help promoting tradition?

Linking craftsmen and large groups is exactly the challenge that Métiers Rares aims to take up.

The agency benefits from direct links with art craftsmen, which allows it to measure their skills and needs, and to help them promote their traditional craftsmanship to luxury houses. Digital tools play a key role in achieving this goal. The agency manages, records, and broadcasts interviews on digital platforms, hosting and promoting modern and mainly urban craftsmen. Although the agency, as a starting point, is a bridge between craftsmen and industries, the final goal is to build a direct and lasting dialogue between both parties.

Such disintermediation is widely enabled by social networks. Craftsmen can therefore communicate by themselves and for themselves, promoting their own work, an additional evidence of the growing trend that is bringing crafts to light after a long time spent in backstage.

“Being attractive means working with our own tools.”

Jean-Louis Fréchin
Architect and designer, founder of NoDesign

The same issue of self-promotion and visibility affects recruiters. Wide communication campaigns have been launched the past few years, such as “Savoir pour faire”. Brought to the fore by Pascal Morand, this campaign launched in 2019 was intended for craftsmen and led to the creation of a permanent digital platform. Its mission is to communicate, map and shed light upon the 10 000 crafts job openings that occur each year.

Far from replacing the hand’s genius, new technologies are thus a chance for large groups and craftsmen that both must seize.

Greater Paris attractiveness: becoming the world’s cluster for fine crafts

Innovating to invent tomorrow’s tradition, this challenge is long-standing and has always motivated art craftsmen. Still, the know-how cannot be separated from the place in which it is practiced. Arts and crafts are necessarily rooted in a territory, in a city that offers its workforce efficient and inspiring resources, and that benefits from their global recognition and fame in return. A given area provides their craftsmen with spaces, facilities, tools that are needed to foster innovation, whereas craftsmen contribute to making their place of work more attractive. What about Paris and its region?

“Greater Paris is a chance for fine crafts.”

Raphaëlle Le Baud
Founder of Métiers Rares

Paris benefits from a national and global outreach owing to the universal and diverse nature of activities located within the city. It is precisely in Paris that the leading decision centres are settled, as well as craftsmen’s biggest partners and clients (museums, luxury houses, scientific and industrial research centers). Recent efforts have even been initiated by local authorities to further encourage craft workshops to settle in Paris.

But in spite of these assets, Paris also happens to be a remarkably small city compared with other global cities, and is therefore strained by a major pressure on the real estate market.

This phenomenon has had two consequences. On the one hand, it has redefined the spaces of creation, creativity, and exchanges: coffee shops, bars have become working spaces where designers, illustrators, and other art craftsmen can meet.

On the other hand, most craftsmen have decided to move out from Paris, preferring the wider Greater Paris area. This general trend however did not lead to a geographical dispersion of craftsmen: in fact, it has helped larger clusterings of both resources and skills to form in wider spaces that fit with craftsmen’s daily economic reality. According to Raphaëlle Le Baud, “Greater Paris is a chance for art crafts”.

Pascal Morand
Executive president of the Haute Couture and Fashion Federation

For Greater Paris to become the world’s design, innovation, fine crafts cradle, it still has to face two major challenges. The French Alternative Energies and Atomic Energy Commission focuses its assets on skills transfer and gathers in a single center all researchers, technicians and engineers. Following the example of this polarised production chain, local authorities and partners must encourage and increase the number of scientific, industrial and even textile clusters, which could allow craftsmen to enter the production process from its early scheme. “Being attractive means working with our own tools”, as Jean-Louis Fréchin claims it.

The second crucial challenge for these clusters is to be visible, understandable for domestic and foreign partners. On a global scale, the Greater Paris’ clusters benefit from a significantly lower outreach compared with global giants like the GAFA, although French clusters show similar levels of competence. Promoting its centers means creating urban spaces dedicated to innovative projects exhibitions, but also fostering and spreading a brand image among future foreign partners and customers. It is by focusing on communication and shedding light on cutting-edge projects of large groups, in which crafts would play a crucial role, that Greater Paris attractiveness can thrive.

L’artisanat d’art, vecteur d’attractivité ou catalyseur des défis des métropoles ?

L’artisanat d’art, vecteur d’attractivité ou catalyseur des défis des métropoles ?

Les Villes Ateliers

Du technicien scientifique, au designer, en passant par l’ébéniste d’art, « les métiers d’art fascinent, mais il y a une réalité économique sur laquelle il faut revenir et qui est difficile ». Comme le souligne Raphaëlle Le Baud, fondatrice de Métiers Rares, l’artisanat d’art est un levier aux formes multiples, de plus en plus stratégique dans le développement économique et l’attractivité des territoires. Toutefois, il polarise les nombreux défis que les métropoles doivent relever. Comment mettre en relation une offre qualifiée et une demande intelligible ? Comment attirer les talents internationaux ? Quelles opportunités l’artisanat d’art représente-t-il pour le territoire du Grand Paris ?

Autour de la table-ronde Villes Ateliers du Forum Global Cities Makers, Raphaëlle Le Baud, Philippe Chomaz, directeur scientifique exécutif du CEA, Jean-Louis Fréchin, architecte et designer à NoDesign, et Pascal Morand, président exécutif de la Fédération de la Haute Couture et de la Mode ont fait un état des lieux et proposé leurs solutions pour répondre aux enjeux grandissants de l’artisanat d’art dans les métropoles mondiales.

Artisans d’art et grands groupes : de la difficulté de transformer la notoriété en business

Maillon longtemps oublié de la chaîne de création, l’artisanat d’art est devenu « la quintessence de la mise en œuvre », comme l’explique Jean-Louis Fréchin. La création d’un produit industriel, scientifique ou textile nécessite un savoir-faire technique et une maîtrise manuelle qui sont activement recherchés par les grands groupes industriels et les maisons de luxe. Mais la notoriété d’un artisan d’art ne suffit pas à rendre son activité rentable : la rencontre entre l’offre et la demande est loin d’être évidente.

« Aller au-delà de l’état de l’art »

Philippe Chomaz
Directeur scientifique exécutif du CEA

La première raison tient à la qualification des artisans, et plus précisément, à la marginalisation persistante des formations dédiées aux métiers de l’artisanat dans le système scolaire français. Le modélisme ou encore le bureau des méthodes demeurent méconnus par ceux et celles qui ambitionnent des carrières dans le design, la mode, ou l’industrie scientifique. Comme en témoignent certains artisans interrogés par Raphaëlle Le Baud, les parcours « professionnels » et « technologiques » résultent souvent d’un choix d’orientation par défaut.

Par ailleurs, être présent sur un même territoire ne suffit pas à susciter la rencontre entre artisans qualifiés et grands groupes. Il faut que les deux parties prenantes soient visibles l’une par l’autre. Or, les artisans éprouvent des difficultés à exister, à se faire connaître auprès des recruteurs. Réciproquement, les grands groupes de la mode et du luxe, dont les besoins en main d’œuvre sont considérables, font état d’un manque de visibilité auprès des artisans.

Le numérique au service de la tradition

C’est précisément le défi de mise en relation que l’agence Métiers Rares veut relever.

En contact direct avec les artisans d’art, mesurant leurs compétences et leurs besoins, l’agence les aide à promouvoir leur savoir-faire auprès des maisons de luxe. Les outils numériques jouent, à cet effet, un rôle central. L’agence mène, enregistre et diffuse sur ses plateformes numériques des podcasts mettant à l’honneur des artisans modernes, majoritairement urbains. Et bien qu’elle soit un premier relai entre les artisans et les entreprises, l’objectif final est la création d’un dialogue direct et durable entre les deux parties.

Cette désintermédiation est d’autant plus facilitée par la maîtrise par les artisans des réseaux sociaux. Ces derniers peuvent ainsi communiquer en leur propre nom, preuve s’il en faut de la mise en lumière d’une profession auparavant reléguée en coulisses.

« Pour être attractifs, il faut que l’on travaille avec nos propres outils »

Jean-Louis Fréchin
Architecte et designer, fondateur de NoDesign

Même démarche du côté des recruteurs. Des campagnes de communication sont menées depuis plusieurs années, parmi lesquelles « Savoir pour faire ». Mise en avant par Pascal Morand, cette campagne lancée en 2019 a donné lieu à une plateforme numérique qui a pour mission de communiquer sur les 10 000 postes à pourvoir chaque année dans les métiers techniques, et de cartographier les offres d’emploi et de formations, désormais visibles par les artisans.

Loin de remplacer l’intelligence de la main, les nouvelles technologies sont une opportunité à saisir tant par les grands groupes que par les artisans.

L’attractivité du Grand Paris : devenir le terreau mondial de l’artisanat d’art

Innover, inventer la tradition future, ces défis ne sont pas nouveaux et animent depuis toujours les artisans d’art. Mais le savoir-faire est indissociable de son lieu de création : il est nécessairement ancré dans un territoire avec lequel il entretient un lien fertile et réciproque. Le territoire offre aux artisans l’espace, les infrastructures, les outils dont ils ont besoin pour innover, et se dote par là-même de facteurs supplémentaires d’attractivité. Qu’en est-il de Paris et sa région ?

« Le Grand Paris est une chance pour les métiers d’art. »

Raphaëlle Le Baud
Fondatrice de Métiers Rares

Paris bénéficie d’un rayonnement national et international dû au caractère universel et diversifié de ses activités. C’est ici que sont concentrés les pôles de décision ainsi que les principaux clients de l’artisanat d’art (musées, maisons de luxe, instituts de recherche scientifique et industrielle). De plus, de récents efforts amorcés par les politiques locales tendent à encourager l’implantation d’ateliers d’art. Mais Paris (intra-muros) est également l’une des capitales mondiales les plus denses, soumise à une forte pression foncière rendant le coût de l’immobilier très élevé. Ce phénomène a pour effet la redéfinition des lieux de travail et de rencontre : les cafés et les bars sont désormais des espaces de création à part entière, où se retrouvent designers, graphistes et autres artisans d’art.

Mais la conséquence majeure de l’augmentation des prix sur le marché immobilier à Paris est le choix par les artisans de privilégier une implantation dans le Grand Paris. Loin de signifier une dispersion géographique, il permet des regroupements à la fois des ressources et des savoir-faire dans des espaces plus vastes et plus adaptés à la réalité économique des artisans. Selon Raphaëlle Le Baud, « le Grand Paris est une chance pour les métiers d’art ».

Pascal Morand
Président exécutif, Fédération de la Haute Couture et de la Mode

Pour devenir le berceau mondial de l’artisanat d’art, de la création et de l’innovation, le Grand Paris doit encore relever deux défis majeurs. A l’image du CEA qui mise sur le transfert de compétences et concentre en son sein chercheurs, techniciens et ingénieurs, les clusters scientifiques, industriels ou encore textiles doivent être encouragés à échelle du territoire métropolitain, afin de permettre aux artisans de se greffer au parcours de production dès la conception des projets. « Pour être attractifs, il faut que l’on travaille avec nos propres outils » soutient Jean-Louis Fréchin.

De plus, l’enjeu de visibilité et de lisibilité des pôles de recherche et de production est là aussi crucial. A échelle internationale, ces regroupements bien que compétents bénéficient d’un rayonnement moindre comparé à celui de géants mondiaux tels que les GAFA. Cela passe par l’aménagement d’espaces d’exposition, de mise en visibilité des projets innovants, mais également de diffusion d’une image de marque innovante auprès de partenaires et de clients étrangers.

Un accent mis sur la communication et la clarification des travaux des grands groupes, dans lesquels l’artisanat tiendrait une place centrale, permettrait un nouvel essor d’attractivité pour le Grand Paris.